The Big Upset!

My blog this month is dedicated to my father, Glenny “Duke” Moore, who ascended on Friday, February 5, 2016. He fought for his life all the way to the end and has passed the baton to many people who looked up to him as a father figure or friend. His life – the good, the bad, and the ugly inspire me to try to connect with everyone – despite our differences or our different circumstances because it’s the right thing to do.

cooldaddy

Thank you, Daddy, for encouraging me to fight for my rights as a woman and mother. Your time, support, and listening ear really set me up for future success! Now that you are in the spiritual realm, I know that you are putting in a good word for me to the “Most High” to create new pathways for me to contribute more to society and live your legacy of love that you demonstrated to me and your grandson, Nigel Moore. I’m still trying to process you not being here physically to listen to my blogs or speeches before I publish or recite them. It was truly fulfilling watching your face light up with pride after I would share my writing with you. You genuinely enjoyed my evolution and my efforts to become an advocate for civil rights in education. You were my #1 supporter and I know every success I experience from this day forward was because you took out the time to just listen and talk to me about life! I am so grateful to have had you in my life! I love you, forever!

Your Super Star,

Pooh

Now, let’s get back to business as I refocus on my mission to coach and motivate whoever decided to read my message today!

This blog is also dedicated to Africans and African Americans, who are celebrating Black History Month. I encourage you to continue to believe in yourself even if some people treat you as if you are unworthy of true happiness, respect, or opportunities in life! More importantly, this blog is for all of the victors who have endured unfair adversities due to their race, gender, religion, sexual orientation, age, income, or by simply using their freedom of speech and expression.

Therefore, I would like to share a sports analogy with you I entitled: “The Big Upset”.

This month, we are approaching a critical part of the high school and college basketball seasons when teams have to play with unity despite their individual differences. Now February is usually the turning point for a lot of basketball teams and this is the time when players collectively decide whether or not they want to be the champions of their region, state, or division. Also, by this time of the basketball season, teams have celebrated some wins and endured some losses! As players or spectators, we all know that the winning results during March Madness reflect the outcome of hard work, courage, & perseverance. As a former athlete, I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter what your season record is or how many star athletes you have on your team, “the championship title is not discriminatory”. The final title belongs to the individuals or team who are not complacent and have a strong desire to win for a greater purpose than themselves!

Now, of course, the fans and critics expect the team with the winning record or the team who have powerful and talented players to win the big game – just like money, power, connections, and prestige usually help people win political positions. But, in sports, most biased fans, would not expect the athletes on the underdog’s team as having the caliber or capacity to help win “the big game” or championship.

Moreover, even some team members only endorse their “star players” as the ones who could help win critical games during the regular season, overlooking players who often watch the game from the bench. So can someone who has been called a “practice player” or a “bench warmer”, compete on such an elite level? Furthermore, can the team who were titled “The Underdogs”, from a different division compete with the division who has the most resources, fans, and corporate sponsors? Of course, they, “The Underdogs” can! So when the “Big Upset” happens and anonymous athletes become (what seemed like) “an overnight success”, everyone who’s watching and playing the game discovers humbly that, “All you need to win is to believe in yourself and have a courageous heart”.

So, my readers, don’t lose the game of life believing only certain people are meant to be victorious. In fact, we can be so predictable with the negative attitudes we have about ourselves or the types of outcomes we create for our lives, that people actually invest big money into industries that support our sometimes defeated attitudes – like the prison, mental health, illegal drug, and medical industries. Thus, now is the time for us to explore economics and research the political science that runs this world! We have to collectively understand that, the “Big Upset” happens when political fans lose “big money” on the underdogs win or new winning attitudes!

With that said, “Never underestimate the power of the underdog” if you feel like one because the championship goes to the team who takes the most calculated risks and have the most heart! So please find the winner inside of you and make championship history! Over the next few decades, I want to hear about you or your children, during Black , Hispanic Heritage, or Women’s History Month! I want to see you and others collaborating to make World History just like our ancestors! Yes, “YOU” – because from this day forward, you are not giving up on yourself or the legacy you could create for generations to come!

In closing, I don’t know how many times I’ve heard my former high school basketball coach, Breezy Bishop say, “You’ve gotta have heart!” Who would have thought that such a common phrase that I often laughed at and imitated in high school could get me through such a complex political game situation in my personal and professional life. I just know from my experience with sports that when you come to a game wanting to win, you have to get in a competitive mental zone that no one can take you out of, “not even white supremacy”! I never would have thought I would be going “head to head” with white supremacy in the education system, but God will put you in game situations in life that will help your team to become believers again, achievers again, and winners again because freedom, respect, and opportunity belong to all of us! Not just them, but “US” too!

Happy Black History Month to everyone! Study History and Make History! Until next time, please check out my video collection from my local board of education meetings over the past three years. I am available to speak on many issues regarding education, instructional technology, economics, and policies related to equal opportunities for teachers, employees, and students! Take care and Power to the People!

Leave a Reply

