This Case is Closed in order to Open a Door Full of Opportunities!

Hello Education and Civil Rights Supporters,

Yesterday I received a response from the Office of Civil Rights through the Department of Education about my legal case and I wanted to share with you the actual letter from the Team Investigator. I am not surprised from this response and the lack of support from the individuals that were involved with my case. This situation showed me how loyal political players are to a team or organization even when their teammates make decisions that are against their “own” personal belief system. In other words, when you are a part of a social group, religious group, fraternity, sorority, sports team, coalition – some people chose to be loyal just to be “a part of a whole” and give up their soul’s purpose to remain wealthy, prestigious, or popular in the public’s eye. At some point during my case, the decision-makers could have exercised their social responsibility to make this wrong – Right. However, due to my “courageous words”, “untimeliness” or “Black Pride”, my case had no relevance or a chance for justice. Overall, there are several arguments that outweigh being untimely in my case, but I will allow you to be the judge once you read the long awaited letter I received.

More importantly, I want to share with you what I’ve learned from this entire experience and my 35 years of living on this earth:

1. United we stand, divided we fall.

2. Some of us talk, laugh, and gossip about each other, more than we actually help each other. Sometimes we compete more than we actually collaborate with each other.

3. More African Americans need to be supportive of each other and work together on the issues that impact their communities.

4. Instead of helping the ratings of popular shows such as Scandal and Empire or sporting events such as March Madness and the NBA finals which are distracting you from what is really going on in the world, please actively and equally support a person who has been killed, mistreated, or retaliated against. We must avoid television more often and tune into our own lives.

5. I often frequent Baltimore County’s Board of Education meetings to speak on behalf of the African American community and my race is often underrepresented.

6. I understand as working parents it can be very challenging to attend certain political events, but your presence can truly make a difference in your child’s future and your future as well.

7. As an African American community, we should become more involved in politics because there is power in numbers. Check out the ratings for Scandal, Empire, March Madness, the Super Bowl, and the NBA Finals, then you will see how many corporations are supported by the Black community as we die, along with, being mistreated everyday. Check out those deadly and discriminatory statistics as well.

8. I’ve witnessed people of other social groups get exactly what they wanted or witnessed them receiving a fair chance for justice due to political involvement, access to money, and massive amounts of participation from their peers.

9. We judge each other too much and fear judging those who strategically plan our lives and life outcomes.

10. African Americans, along with other races, should seek to learn and study the law as a community in order to defend themselves for being mistreated or misled. Knowledge is power! Ase’!

11. African Americans should come together as a community and analyze school budgets and state budgets whether you are working or not because it impacts your life either way.

12. Whether you are working or unemployed, your thoughts and views matter and could possibly change the hearts of others, creating a more compassionate agenda in politics.

13. Some of us give up too easily! Don’t lose your vision or your hope!

14. African Americans should continue to team up by creating opportunities to support their children and families with financial literacy programs, career opportunities, and entrepreneurship training. Change the financial and employment statistics for our community by seeking resources both online and in the community!

15. African Americans should have more moral and legal assistance available to them in school and at the workplace to assist them with their internal grievance cases.

16. A Cultural Sensitivity and Emotional Intelligence class should be a High School graduation requirement.

17. When African American leaders try to help other African Americans, it’s called favoritism; when a certain racial group help its race, it’s called an equal opportunity. We need to define equal opportunity and match it with affirmative action.

18. People in power will retaliate against you if you speak out about injustice regarding their social group and will use their power against you while demonstrating a positive image to the public’s eye.

19. People in power will take the truth you speak personally and play the role of God in your life if you allow them to, but remember we all are Gods and Goddesses, the original image of God. We are Creators!

20. Some leaders get overly comfortable in their positions and think they can get away with retaliation and mistreating others, but this behavior will not be tolerated if enough people stand up against it! We have to organize and strategize to change the status quo!

21. We have prejudice people who are working with our children and working beside us everyday. Therefore, we have to pray that they will change their hearts because one day their children will need help too; one day they will need help. Pray, but be proactive with your legal matters.

22. We have to build each other up because there are too many people who will not give us the tools for success due to racism, classism, sexism, and corporate greed.

23. Why did I think the education system that has been discriminatory towards African American teachers and other races was going to respect my hard work as a teacher?

24. Why did I believe an education system that at one point did not want African Americans to read and write – would support my African American son’s educational opportunities?

25. Why did I believe in a government that was originally created to mentally, physically, and spiritually enslave African Americans would actually give me and my son justice?

26. Why did I think an African American leader would have the power to bring justice to my case when majority of his bosses may have been racist, biased, or even sexist?

27. Why did I think a female leader, who happened to be of another racial group would support an African American mother and son’s discrimination case?

28. Should I believe that female leaders would support a mother or woman on these types of complex issues no matter their race or religion? Will a woman of another race fight for my civil rights to the point of losing her identity because she connects with my heart and knows she would not have been accepted totally for the way she actually looked on the outside?

29. Are women powerless, disrespected, overworked, or too vindictive in corporate America? Maybe each area I acknowledged is relevant and that is why we cannot progress as corporate women with total satisfaction.

30. Were female leaders influenced by male leaders in order to treat my case as an untimely case or did my team leader arbitrarily make the decision herself because I was standing up for myself firmly?

31. Why did I believe that justice would be served because everyday an African American is killed or spirit is killed due to classism and racism without justice being on their side unless the national media is involved? Sometimes, the media’s attention doesn’t help the dire matters we are facing as a nation.

32. African American families united is the biggest threat to White Supremacy and through this experience I’ve witnessed how some white people do not want black people to help and love one another. We see it every day – our families under extreme stress and living in unfair conditions causing us to divide because individually we have prejudice or different belief systems.

33. We are blaming each other for the hurt that White Supremacy or the Elite has caused us to experience through organized religion, politics, monetary policies, media channels, and education. Stop blaming each other and continue to love and support your family despite your differences!

34. White Supremacy was designed to make African Americans and poor people not BELIEVE anymore or to think that they do not deserve freedom or opportunities. White Supremacy continues to make us feel inferior by using laws against us in order to lower our self-esteem enough to believe that individuals with fancy titles are superior to us.

35. We cannot be equal, if the law or policy constantly divides us as a people. Some people believe poor and being privileged to receive an equal opportunity just don’t mix, but I know if our decision makers did mix the two together, our economy would be a lot stronger and our communities would look like a portrait of progress. I truly believe that politics should empower people, not make them feel unaccomplished or stagnated!

Although on this legal document, it appears that I did not experience racism, discrimination, or my son did not experience retaliation, we absolutely did! I have the proof and some of you have witnessed the evidence. The Office of Civil Rights is supposed to support African Americans and underrepresented groups, but through my case, you can see that clearly this did not happen. It appears that I did not do my job in a timely and a respectful fashion. So please let my lesson, be your lesson and make sure you are not on “CP Time” when submitting your documents. Also, please do not act “too black” or be “too much of an intellectual” because you will not receive justice unless you take your case to private court. As we all know, sometimes through the court system – justice is not a guarantee.

Lastly, this is just the beginning of my career in civil rights and my obligation is to help those who can’t politically help themselves. I believe that when one door closes, another opens and I know there will be some people who are going to support me with my efforts to represent African American children within the school system and African American adults in the workplace. Thank you for your support and please become more active in changing your family lifestyles and community!

Here is my closing prayer for myself and you:

Dear Mother-Father God,

I will not allow the negative events or people’s negative thoughts to interfere with my spirit today. Today is a new day and it has a new purpose. I will renew my mind, heart, and spirit. I will be in the present. I will not escape what agenda you have brought to me today, but try to use my time wisely and purposefully. I will share and use my gifts today with the intent to impact lives and uplift spirits. I will be fair. I will try to be patient and understanding. I will use team approaches to elevate the consciousness of people around me. I will make some decisions that people may not like, but for the betterment of our future. I cannot waste time being fearful by procrastinating or not speaking up when I am being mistreated. I deserve better, we deserve better as a human race! My innovative thoughts and courageous decisions will be for the advancement of this country. I cannot allow the day-to-day challenging events hinder me from my overall mission. I cannot allow the unreasonable decisions that people around me make disrupt the bigger vision I have for the work I have committed my life to. I will not allow the past to affect my present or future unless I am taking the time to improve upon an area I’ve neglected. My personal and professional growth is my priority. I must embrace my growing pains because it is a part of my achievement. I am grateful for all people and events in my life; for it is what allows me to see the world differently. Every event is controlled by Divine timing and I have to allow nature to take its course in certain areas of my life. When the time is right, we can all rejoice for the blessings that will be poured into and out from our lives by acting on our faith! Together we will win and when we stand in solidarity, we are world champions! Remember that believing in your worth is defeating your doubts! Do not stop believing! Faith is why we are all in this race! The finish line of an accomplishment may be closer than we realize, although there are many more milestones to achieve! We humbly have our arms open to the opportunities that the Divine Mother/Father God will present to us. We will receive our blessings and opportunities with humility and gratitude; Despite the hate and confusion around us, we should continue to love and forgive! We should continue to love because love will love us back if we open our hearts! I pray that each and everyone is encouraged by my words! I hope your souls are touched because we have a lot of work to do! Please don’t give up! This world needs you! Amen to the Creator and to my ancestors who give me courage, passion, and new purpose each and every day!

BE ENLIGHTEDSincerely,

Marian Serena Moore & on behalf of Nigel Malik Moore

Sources used in my blog suggested for further reading:

TV By the Numbers

Empire is Fox’s Highest-Rated New Show in Years!

12 Extremely Disturbing Statistics About Police Violence and Black People That Should Alarm You

For Harriet – The Myth of the Welfare Queen: How Classism Worked Against Black Women

Jay Jones – Black Economics Equals Black Power

A Blueprint for RESPECT – U.S. Department of Education

Ed.Gov -Teachers Get R-E-S-P-E-C-T

9 Biggest Lies About Black Males and Academic Success

The Root – Texas Elementary School Teacher on McKinney Pool Party

Morgan the Scribe – To Rachel Dolezal: A White NAACP President Could Have Been a Powerful Thing

Black Enterprise – Financial Literacy Page

U.S. Department of Education Civil Rights – Case Processing Manual

Leave a Reply

